- Nprn: 10086
- Cadw Record No: 23087
- Summary: Wern Independent Chapel was built in 1864 in the Sub-Classical style of the gable-entry type, by architect Thomas Griffiths of Ystalyfera. Wern is now Grade 2 Listed as an exceptional chapel retaining the original interior and elaborate detail.
RCAHMW, August 2010
- Description: Built in 1864. Built in the Sub-Classical style, gable entry type. Date of chapel 1864. Present status : chapel
Exterior - Chapel, stucco gable front with slate roof. Simple facade with fluted angle pilasters, pedimental gable with moulded string below and moulded verge boards, and openings in moulded stucco surrounds. Gable has small keyed roundel with glazed quatrefoil, over big plaque with curved rebated corners to moulded frame and ''''Wern Capel Annibynol 1864'''' in raised capitals. Long arched side windows and centre triplet under depressed arch, all with moulded surrounds and keystones. Centre window has pilasters to surround and to window. Arched centre light flanked by narrow slightly lower arched side-lights. Door has similar pilasters and moulded arch. Recessed panelled doors. Long arched windows to sides and rear.
Interior - Interior with three-sided gallery on 7 fluted iron columns. Gallery front is painted with curved angles, deep cornice with paired brackets, the brackets under panelled pilasters between long horizontal panels. Short square centre panel with clock. Pews in 3 blocks, painted grained with doors. Plain 3-sided panelled set fawr. Pulpit platform is curvaceous with turned balusters, quarter-turn stairs each side wrapping behind curved end of platform balustrade. Square panelled newels. Solid pulpit front with single large shaped panel between pointed panels with quatrefoils below, at level of bottom rail of balustrades. Lower half of pulpit has rebated arched heads to panels. Behind pulpit is large plaster arch with fluted pilasters, console capitals, moulded flat cornice and moulded arch with keystone above. Arched panel between pilasters with marble plaque to Rev E.T. Evans, minister 1920-55.
Plaster ceiling with moulded cornice and very ornate rose, the centre a swirling acanthus in 4 rings of varied patterns, roses, acanthus, flower scroll, and outer acanthus leaf. Lobby has canted sides with 2 half-glazed double-doors and centre window, all with C20 patterned coloured glass. Patterned coloured glass also to the 2 arched windows each side of pulpit, similar style dated 1957. Gallery has large late C19 organ. Raked panelled pews. Basement hall under with 5 iron columns.
- Built: 1864 Source:RCCEORBWM
- Date Of Chapel: 1864 Source:
- Architect: 1864 Thomas Griffiths, Ystalyfera
- £ 1800: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 396: 1905 Accomodation (RCCEORBWM)
- 740: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- Chapel: 2011 (Blwyddiadur)
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Documents
- Style: Sub Classical
- Plan: Gable Entry
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Key People in this Chapel History
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SN76630875
- Address: YSTALYFERA, CILYBEBYLL A LLAN-GIWG; LLANGUICKE