- Nprn: 11150
- Cadw Ref: 25/D/19(3)
- Cadw Record No: 12764
- Summary: Cana Independent Chapel was built in 1810 and rebuilt in 1857. The present chapel, dated 1857, is built in the Simple Gothic style of the gable entry type. Cana is now Grade 2 Listed.
RCAHMW, November 2010
- Description: Gable-facade chapel built in 1810 and rebuilt 1856-7. Built in the Simple Gothic style, gable entry type. Status (1998): in chapel use.
Plain square rubble stone/slate original and tall tound top 50 pane sashes with interlaced glazing bars and upvc fascias. Gable entry. Arches in painted cut stone. Original interior with marbled timber columns. Panelled gallery and pulpit. Walls, iron railings and gates. 1993 PCNPA.
Stylistically similar to Penuel Cemaes, 1860 (NPRN: 11153), and to Glanrhyd Chapel, Llantood, 1870 (information from Cadw list description of 27/10/1992)
A fine façade of dressed stone relieved with painted stone "eyebrows" over both the windows and door. Full-height windows with light tracery of the Gibbs/Gothic type.
Plaque is well lettered eith the name of the minister, Rev. E. Lewis, contained thereon.
Galleried. Courtyard to front.
- Built: 1857 Source:PCNPA
- Built: 1856-1857 Source:Cadw
- Built: 1857 Source:Cadw (plaque)
- Built: 1857 Source:Anthony Jones
- Date Of Chapel: 1857 Source:
- Built: 1810 Source:
- £ 750: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 350: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- Chapel: 1998 (Blwyddiadur)
- Chapel: 2010 (R Scourfield)
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Building
- Style: Simple Gothic
- Plan: Gable Entry
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SN10053901
- Address: FELINDRE FARCHOG, BAYVIL