- Nprn: 11443
- Cadw Ref: G
- Cadw Record No: 18194
- Summary: Adfa Methodist Chapel was built in 1790, enlarged in 1820 and rebuilt in 1872. The present chapel, dated 1872, is stone built in the Simple Round-Headed style with a long-wall entry plan. The doorway is in the front wall together with a round-headed window and door openings. There are two tall centre windows flanking a plaque, which reads: "Capel coffa Lewis Evan/ yr Adfa/ Eglwys Bresbyteraidd/ adeiladwyd 1790/ estynwyd 1820/ Atgyweiriwyd 1997". A three-storey, single-fronted house adjoins the chapel under the same roofline and a lower single-bay vestry on the right-hand side with a half-hipped slate roof and steps up to a round-arched doorway. There is a Gothic forecourt monument to Lewis Evans, partly inscribed; "Er cof/ am/ Lewis Evan/ Llanllugan/ y Cynghorwr cyntaf/ gyda'r/ Methodistaid Calvinaidd yn Ngogledd Cymru/ Ganwyd yn 1719/ Bu farw yn 1792". Adfa is now Grade 2 Listed for its impressive scale and its well preserved and unusual plan, including a house, school and stables. It has a high quality interior and the building has important historical association with the Calvinist preacher Lewis Evans.
RCAHMW, December 2010
- Description: Built in 1790, rebuilt and modified 1820 and 1872. Built in the Simple Round-Headed style, long-wall entry type. Present status : Chapel
Adfa Chapel was first built in 1790, before being rebuilt and modified 1820 and 1872. A long-wall entry chapel, Adfa's front wall has round-headed window & door openings. There are shorter intermediate windows with their heads near eaves, and with two tall centre windows flanking a plaque, which reads: "Capel coffa Lewis Evan/ yr Adfa/ Eglwys Bresbyteraidd/ adeiladwyd 1790/ estynwyd 1820/ Atgyweiriwyd 1997".
3-storey, single-fronted house adjoins under same roofline, with l.h. windows & r.h. doorway, its lofty gable end wall slate-hung. Lower single-bay vestry on r.h. with half-hipped slate roof and steps up to round-arched doorway, its ca. 3-bay return elevation with centre gable.
Stone rear elevations overlooking the graveyard, the chapel rear wall with 3 cambered-headed window openings above and below. Gothic forecourt monument to Lewis Evans is partly inscribed thus: "Er cof/ am/ Lewis Evan/ Llanllugan/ y Cynghorwr cyntaf/ gyda'r/ Methodistaid Calvinaidd yn Ngogledd Cymru/ Ganwyd yn 1719/ Bu farw yn 1792".
Present status [1998 & 2002]: Chapel.
Briefly visited by O M Jenkins, 6/12/2002.
- Small Rear Extension: 1843-1886 Source:Cadw
- Built: c.1790 Source:Cadw
- Built (about): 1790 Source:Religious Census
- Shown On Map: 1821 Source:Cadw
- Memorial To Lewis Evan: 1800-1899 Source:Cadw
- Reblt. Or Ext.; Gallery: c.1820 Source:Cadw
- Schoolroom As Day School: Pre 1879 Source:Cadw
- Enlarged: 1820 Source:BOW
- Schoolroom: 1820 Source:BOW
- Rebuilt: 1872 Source:
- Date Of Chapel: 1872 Source:
- £ 1050: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 37: 1851 (Religious Census)
- 450: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- Chapel: 04/02/1997 (Cadw)
- Chapel: 2011 (Denominational Yearbook)
- With cladding to house & chapel front & vestry
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Building
- Style: Simple Round-Headed
- Plan: Long-wall entry
- Window Glazing: "Y" Glazing
- Windows: Round-Headed
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SJ06020109
- Address: ADFA