- Nprn: 11741
- Cadw Ref: 25/D/17(3)
- Cadw Record No: 12762
- Summary: Yr Hen Gapel was built in 1791 and rebuilt in 1810. In 1857 it was converted into a Sunday School and in the later nineteenth century into the vestry of the Cana Chapel. it has rubble stone, formerley whitewashed walls, with an imitation slate roof and long-wall entry plan. Yr Hen Gapel is now Grade 2 Listed as a rare small early nineteenth century chapel.
RCAHMW, May 2010
- Description: Built in 1791 and rebuilt in 1810, in 1857 it was converted to a Sunday School and in the later C19 to a vestry. Status (1993): vestry.
Rare surviving small early C19 chapel. Stone/slate. Former Independent Chapel, 1810. Imitation slate roof. West end brick stack. 12 pane sashes with cut stone voussoirs and keystones. 1993 PCNPA.
1810 former Independent Chapel, used as Sunday School after new chapel was built 1857 and latterly as vestry. Cadw 1992.
"Rare surviving small early-C19 chapel" (PCNPA). A chapel was built in 1791 (1851 R. Census). And [re]built in 1810 (Cadw; PCNPA); in 1857 it was converted to a Sunday School after the new chapel was built (Cadw), and in the later C19 to a vestry (Cadw). Status (1993): vestry.
- Built: 1810 Source:Cadw
- Built: 1791 Source:Religious Census
- Built: 1810 Source:PCNPA
- Changed Usage To Vestry: 1880A Source:Cadw
- Converted To A Sunday School: 1857 Source:Cadw
- Chapel: 1810 Source:Photo
- 120: 1851 (Religious Census)
- 115: 1851 (Religious Census)
- 110: 1851 Standing (Religious Census)
- Vestry: 17/10/1992 (Cadw)
- Vestry: 2010 (R Scourfield)
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Building
- Storey: Single Storey
- Style: Vernacular
- Plan: Long-wall entry
- Window Glazing: Small Pane
- Windows: Flat-Headed
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SN10073907
- Address: FELINDRE FARCHOG, BAYVIL