- Nprn: 6271
- Cadw Record No: 22501
- Summary: Nebo Independent Chapel was built in 1836 and rebuilt in 1860, in the Simple Round-Headed style with an unusual square plan (hipped box). The chapel is Grade 2 listed.
RCAHMW, June 2009.
- Description: Chapel was built 1836 (according to original plaque). A later plaque records: Built 1830, rebuilt 1861. The Sunday School was added in 1861. Built in the Simple Round-Headed style, square plan (hipped box). Status (1999): Chapel
Exterior - Chapel, square plan with rendered walls and hipped slate roof, overhanging on flat eaves with paired brackets. Terracotta ridge and finials. Front has just 2 arched windows, big centre arched door and small arched plaque, all in raised stucco surrounds. Windows are small-paned sashes with intersecting bars in arched heads. Earlier C20 double doors with fanlight, and leaded glazing with 'Nebo' in white letters. Both side elevations are 2-storey, 3-window, with plastic windows replacing cambered-headed 12-pane sashes. Recessed window heads. Rear wall is entirely slate-hung in rough local slates.
Interior - Square interior with unusual 4-sided gallery on 7 thin iron columns. Gallery front in long horizontal panels with square panels between. Fourth side is carried over entrance lobby. Panelled painted grained pews with doors, in 3 blocks, the rear pews raked upwards. Some raked inward-facing pews each side of pulpit. Three-sided set fawr also panelled with doors. Pulpit backs onto lobby and has panel front with bookrest, ornate open neo-Jacobean fretwork rail each side. Three seats below, centre seat with carved scrolled armrests. Steps up each side with ramped rail over panelling, but above rail is inserted piece of pierced fretwork filling out the curve, and further fretwork over curved rear corners of platform. Timber pulpit back with thick crest of opposed scrolls in ogee form. Traceried window each side into lobby. Boarded ceiling with plaster cornice. Lobby has stone steps to gallery.
Listed for its special architectural interest as a square-plan chapel, with fine interior, unusual for the 4-sided gallery, raked pews and pulpit backed onto lobby.
- Built: 1836 Source:Religious Census
- Date Of Chapel: 1860 Source:
- Sunday School: 1861 Source:
- Rebuilt: 1860 Source:
- £ 1000: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 100: 1905 Accomodation (RCCEORBWM)
- 500: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- 140: 1851 Standing (Religious Census)
- 272: 1851 (Religious Census)
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Documents
- Storey: Single Storey
- Style: Simple Round-Headed
- Gallery: On Four Sides
- Plan: Hipped Box
- Pulpit Position: Detached
- Window Glazing: Intersecting
- Windows: Round-Headed
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SN13952569
- Address: EFAIL-WEN