- Nprn: 7247
- Cadw Ref: AA
- Cadw Record No: 9917
- Summary: Capel Gwynfil was built in 1760 for a Welsh Calvinistic Methodist community, including the eminent Rev. Daniel Rowlands, founded in 1735. Daniel Rowland (1713-1790), one of the founders of Welsh Methodism, was curate of Llangeitho, which because the centre of a powerful religious movement. "The late Revd. Daniel Rowlands was turned out of the Established Church of Llangeitho in 1763 and his congregation built for him the chapel and joined under his Ministry and was called Calvinistic Methodist and the chapel was called Chapel Llangeitho on account that Rowlands was called Rowlands Llangeitho, though the Chapel are in Township of Gwynfil Parish of Llanddewi Brefi.". It was later rebuilt/modified in 1764, 1813 and 1861-3, the latter to the design of John Lumley of Aberystwyth.
The chapel is in a simple round-headed style, with two storeys, and has a roughcast exterior below a hipped slate roof with bracketed eaves. The entrance to the chapel was moved to the gable end in 1861. The fenestration is a combination of cambered-headed two-light and arch-headed windows with Y-tracery.
The chapel interior dates primarily to 1861-3, though the deep coved ceiling, acanthus and guilloche rose may be earlier. A gallery with canted angles and raised flat panels with quadrant rebated corners spans three sides of the chapel, mounted upon plain iron columns. There are three blocks of box pews, facing a plain great seat. In the churchyard there is a white marble statue of Daniel Rowlands mounted upon a square stone pedestal. The eminent horse breeder Thomas Rees (1862-1951) is alos buried in the graveyard.
In 1905 (Royal Commission on the Church of England and other Religious Bodies in Wales and Monmouthshire) there were 700 sittings in the chapel which was valued at £2700.
Source: Cadw Listed Building Record
RCAHMW Inventory Documents
K Steele, RCAHMW, 17 March 2009
- Description: Cause begun 1735 & chapel built 1760; rebuilt/modified 1764, 1813 & again 1861/3 to the design of John Lumley of Aberystwyth. Further modified/rebuilt 1887. Building style is simple round-headed, gable entry type. Status (1998): in chapel use.
1851 Census "The late Revd. Daniel Rowlands was turned out of the Established Church of Llangeitho in 1763 and his congregation built for him the chapel and joined under his Ministry and was called Calvinistic Methodist and the chapel was called Chapel Llangeitho on account that Rowlands was called Rowlands Llangeitho, though the Chapel are in Township of Gwynfil Parish of Llanddewi Brefi."
An early-C19 chapel building "typical of the area". Plastered walls with hipped slate roof & bracketed eaves. 2 tiers of windows: square-framed above and round-headed below; band; twin doorways with fanlights and panelled doors.
The statue of Daniel Rowlands (1713-17190) is in the chapel yard: C19, white marble figure on a square stone pedestal (information from Welsh Office and MHLG provisional list for Tregaron R.D., surveyed 1962; OMJ).
- Flagst. In Present Lobby?: 1764 Source:Cadw
- Built: 1820A Source:Welsh Office
- Built: 1813-1815 Source:Cadw
- Built: 1760 Source:Horsfall-Turner
- D Rowlands's 1st Chapel: 1760 Source:Cadw
- Cause: 1757 Source:Evan James
- Cause: 1760 Source:Horsfall-Turner
- Chapel House: 1857 Source:Evan James
- Chapel House: 1857 Source:Cadw
- Date Of Chapel: 1861 Source:
- Outbuilding Range: 1902 Source:Cadw
- Statue Of Daniel Rowlands: 1883 Source:Cadw
- Stable: 1857 Source:Evan James
- Rebuilt: 1764 Source:Horsfall-Turner
- Renewed: 1863 Source:Evan James
- D Rowlands's 2nd Chapel: 1764 Source:Cadw
- Rebuilt: 1813 Source:1851 Census
- Rebuilt: 1814 Source:Evan James
- Reorientated; Present Int: 1861-1863 Source:Cadw
- Sunday School: 1857 Source:Evan James
- Stable Range: 1902 Source:BOW
- Sculptor: 1883 Edward Griffiths, Chester
- Architect: 1861-1863 John Lumley, Aberystwyth
- £ 2700: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- £ 600: 1997 Statue (Cadw)
- 120: 1851 Standing ()
- 96: 1851 ()
- 332: 1851 ()
- 700: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- Chapel: 15/10/1997 (Cadw)
- Chapel: 2011 (Denominational Yearbook)
- Welsh: ()
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Building
- Storey: Two Storey
- Style: Simple Round-Headed
- Gallery: On three sides
- Plan: Gable Entry
- Window Glazing: "Y" Glazing
- Windows: Mixed
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Key People in this Chapel History
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
The Languages of the Chapel during its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SN62055979
- Address: LLANGEITHO