- Nprn: 7570
- Cadw Ref: (WO)5/67
- Cadw Record No: 0974
- Summary: Capel Mawr Methodist Chapel was built in 1793, enlarged in 1805 and 1813, and then rebuilt in 1829. A schoolroom and vestry were added in 1867. The chapel was rebuilt and enlarged again in 1880, to the design of architect Richard Owen of Liverpool, with further additions in 1892 by architect Richard Davies of Bangor. The present chapel, dated 1880, is built in the Classical style of the long-wall entry type. Capel Mawr is Grade 2 Listed as a particularly fine late nineteenth century chapel with good original character and a fine interior.
RCAHMW, December 2009
- Description: The cause was established and the first chapel built in 1793. It was enlarged in 1805 and again in 1813, and rebuilt in 1828/9. A schoolroom was built in 1867 and also in July of that year, a vestry, built on the site of the town windmill. The chapel was rebuilt and enlarged again in 1880, to the design of Richard Owen of Liverpool. Further additions were made ca. 1892. Built in the Classical style, long-wall entry type. Status (1981): in chapel use.
Large late-Victorian chapel in restrained Italianate style. Of limestone construction with symmetrical ashlared facade and slate roof, half-hipped to the gable ends; 2 metal louvres. Four-bay, single-storey porch block advanced to the centre. This has a pair of round-arched entrances with flanking arched windows; projecting imposts and keystones. Six-(sunk)panel doors with plain segmental fanlights. Flanking and end pilasters supporting a plain entablature with moulded cornice. Surmounting this is a columnar stone balustrade with moulded rail. The porch returns have similar arched windows; all have plain sashes with marginal glazing. Flanking the porch are further, square-headed entrances with plain pilasters supporting entablatures; doors as before, with plain rectangular fans. To the L and R (respectively) of these entrances are tall outer stair windows, arched and glazed as before, with corbelled sills, flush voussoirs and projecting keystones. The upper, gallery floor, has 4 further, similar arched windows with continuous moulded label running the length of the facade. Modillion eaves cornice. The L gable end, facing Beacon's Hill, has three 8-pane sashes to each floor, with cambered heads and marginal glazing.
Adjoining the chapel at its northern corner, with its facade facing Beacon's Hill, is the School Room. This consists of a large hall raised above a basement storey with a high chamfered plinth. Asymmetrical limestone ashlar facade with moulded wooden cornice and hipped slate roof; 2 metal louvres. Of 5 bays, the second (from L) is advanced and gabled and has moulded bargeboards and an end chimney with simply-decorated capping. This bay has a 16-light recessed sash window with further 3-light section above; flat stone lintel and projecting sill. Above this is a stringcourse, continued onto the other bays as an eaves course; raised date to the gable apex: 'AD 1892.' The flanking L bay and the 2 bays to the R have similar, narrower windows of 12 panes. The right-hand bay is recessed and has a narrow 6-pane window, similar to those before, and a recessed 6-panel door to the return with moulded panels and a 6-pane rectangular overlight. 12-pane sashes to the basement with an entrance to the advanced bay; part-glazed double doors with rectangular overlight.
The chapel and schoolroom are fronted by low forecourt walls of rough-dressed rubble with dressed, chamfered copings. These step down in stages from the upper to the lower end of Chapel Street, and then turn at right-angles to follow the line of the descending Beacon's Hill. to a point immediately beyond the schoolroom. At the upper end, to the R of the chapel, and at the lower end, opposite the schoolroom entrance, are stone gatepiers with chamfered bases and pyramidal capping stones. Opposite the chapel porch are a pair of larger, rusticated gatepiers with similar capping. Simple iron gates to these, together with a surviving stretch of similar railings sweeping from these piers down to the point at which the chapel meets the schoolroom.
Entrance passage with geometric pavement having counter-changed yellow/red/black tiles. The partition wall dividing the entrance passage from the chapel proper has dado boarding and has a central window with stained glass above a simple World War II stone memorial. The chapel entrances lead off to the L and R and have part-glazed double doors with engraved and frosted glass, and leaded glazing to the margins.
Fine chapel interior with pine joinery throughout. U-shaped gallery supported on fluted cast iron colonnettes with foliated capitals; this is cantilevered-out on scrolled brackets and has modillion decoration and a panelled face with moulded surmounting rail. Six tiers of pew seating to main and gallery floors, the latter raking. Set fawr with curved enclosing rails having panelled lower section and surmounting decorative iron arcading; turned balusters and newels with geometric finials. Central, semi-octagonal pulpit with flanking curved stair approaches, detailed as before. The pulpit has a panelled front with pierced decoration, fluted columns and foliated capitals. Raised up behind the Set fawr and pulpit is a large organ with turned gallery balustrade. Tripartite upper section with half-round projections flanking a wide, depressed-arched central section with pierced spandrels; shallow pediment with pierced decoration above a central console with flanking panelled (lower) sections.
The ceiling has 15 panels (5 with floral centrepieces), with 2 cast iron decorative ceiling vents.
- "built", & Gates & Railings: 1880A Source:Welsh Office
- "built", & Gates & Railings: 1892? Source:Welsh Office
- Established: 1793 Source:Capeli Cymru
- Built: 1828 Source:Capeli Cymru
- Date Of Chapel: 1880 Source:Hubbard, Edward
- Rebuilt: 1829 Source:Hubbard, Edward
- Schoolroom: 1892 Source:BOW
- Extension And Renovation: 1880 Source:SRH
- Rebuilt: 1880 Source:
- Builder: 1829 Edward Peters, Caercwrle
- Architect: 1880 Richard Owens, Liverpool
- Architect: 1892 Richard Davies, Bangor
- £ 6500: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 500: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- 1200: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- 800: 1875 Sittings (OS DE sheet 13.4.18)
- Chapel: 1995 (Blwyddiadur)
- Chapel: 2010 (Denominational Yearbook)
- Welsh: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Building
- Style: Classical
- Plan: Long-wall entry
- Window Glazing: Margin
- Windows: Round-Headed
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Key People in this Chapel History
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
The Languages of the Chapel during its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SJ05256627
- Address: CHAPEL ST./BEACONS HILL, DENBIGHDENBIGH