- Nprn: 8238
- Cadw Ref: 63/M/61&62(2)
- Cadw Record No: 8756
- Summary: Maesyronnen Congregational chapel was formed in 1692 and has important associations with the history of non-conformity in Wales. Meetings are said to have started with Vavasours Powell's ministry in 1640 and an independant chapel stemmed from the 1649 Act for the better teaching of the Gospel in Wales. It was formed as an offshoot of the Baptists of Llanigon and Hay.
Various ministers are recorded before 1658, and between 1672 and 1682 Henry Maurice probably used this sub-medieval longhouse-derived farmhouse for unauthorised meetings. Oliver Cromwell is said to have attended a meeting here. The chapel was adapted for worship by dissenters and registered at Prestiegne in 1696. The chapel is also associated with Dr Abraham Parry, FRS editor of the first encyclopedia, and was leased with cottage and garden by the successors of Sir Humphrey Howarth to the chapel elders by an indenture of April 1720.
The chapel was refurbished around 1985. It was built 1696 in the Vernacular style with its entrance in the long-wall. It houses a number of wall monuments of interest to the history of non-conformity in the area.
Source: CADW listed buildings description.
RCAHMW, November 2007.
- Description: Church formed in 1692; byre of mid-C16 cruck-framed longhouse adapted as new meeting house in 1696-8 & registered at Presteigne in 1696. Refurbished ca. 1985; farmhouse currently administed by Landmark Trust for holiday lets. Building is listed Grade 1. Built in the Vernacular style, long-wall entry type. Date of chapel: 1696. See Site Files [Ecclesiastical] for photos. Status (2001): in chapel use.
"One of the oldest non-conformist chapels in Wales, containing C17 furniture" (information from Welsh Office of MHLG's provisional list for Painscastle Rural District, surveyed 08/1958).
An Independent Chapel at Maesyronnen stemmed from the 1649 Act for the better propagation of, and preaching of, the Gospel in Wales; this permitted the setting up of licensed non-conforming groups, and it was formed as an offshoot of Baptisis at Llanigon and Hay (information from list description in the Cadw resurvey list for Glasbury Community, of 18/01/1996).
- Refurbished: c.1985 Source:Cadw
- Built: 1697 Source:Hague, D.B.
- Built: c.1649 Source:Cadw
- Cause Established: 1697 Source:UR Church 2001 Yr Bk
- Date Of Chapel: 1696 Source:
- Meeting Started Nearby: 1640 Source:Cadw
- Leased To Chapel Elders: 1720 Source:Cadw
- Registered At Presteigne: 1696 Source:Cadw
- Furniture In Chapel: 1600-1699 Source:WO of MHLG
- Used Fmhse At Maesyronnen: 1600-1699 Source:Cadw
- Minister: 1640 Vavasour Powell,
- £ 350: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 25+5: 1851 (Religious Census)
- 120: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- Chapel: 2001 (U R Church Year Book)
- Chapel: 2010 (R Scourfield)
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Building
- Storey: Single Storey
- Style: Vernacular
- Plan: Long-wall entry
- Pulpit Position: Rear Wall
- Windows: Flat-Headed
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Key People in this Chapel History
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SO17664109
- Address: FFYNNON GYNNYDD ROAD, MAESYRONNEN