Our Trustees

As a charity we are governed by a Board of Trustees. The Trust relies heavily on the contribution of our eight Trustees who dedicate many hours of voluntary time to support the work of the Trust. The Trustees come from a variety of backgrounds and are based across Wales.

Stephen Hughes- Chair

Stephen Hughes, B.A., M.Phil., F.R.Hist.S., F.S.A. Former Secretary of The International Committee for the Conservation of the Industrial Heritage TICCIH, Former Vice-President of ICOMOS-UK & formerly Projects Director of the Royal Commission on the Ancient & Historical Monuments of Wales. Undertakes missions for the World Heritage Centre of the International Committee for Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) and has sat on the ICOMOS World Heritage Panel (2009 & 2014-15). He has represented ICOMOS & TICCIH in China & represented TICCIH at UNESCO Experts Meetings on Canals, Technical Monuments & the Twentieth Century. He is a Member of the Editorial Boards of Industrial Archaeology Review & Patrimoine de l’Industrie. Appointed 2015.

Neil Sumner

 Neil Sumner-Vice Chair

Retired architect and chartered town planner. Formerly Head of Conservation and Environmental Policy at Bridgend County Borough Council. Past chair of the Institute of Historic Building Conservation, Wales branch. Former member of Welsh Government’s Historic Environment Group. Member of Cadw’s working party on redundant chapels 1996. Chair of Trust 2001-08. Appointed 1999.

WP_20160724_18_11_41_ProDavid Lloyd

Cambridge graduate, MA in Economics. Solicitor (retired) former partner at Linklaters, London, Head of Real Estate Department. Past board member and trustee London Metropolitan University. Current trustee of Abbeyfield North Downs Society Limited. Former Secretary London Presbytery, Presbyterian Church of Wales, Member and Elder United Welsh Presbyterian Church of South London. Appointed 2013.



 D Huw Owen

Former Keeper of Pictures and Maps, National Library of Wales. Elder at Capel y Morfa, Aberystwyth. Chair of the Applications Department and the Davies Lecture Board, Presbyterian Church of Wales. Member of the Executive Committee of CAPEL, the Chapels Heritage Society. His Capeli Cymru (2005) is a survey (in Welsh) of more than a hundred Welsh Nonconformist chapels, and his Chapels of Wales (in English) was published in November 2012. Appointed 1999.

rob_scourfield (2) copyRobert Scourfield

Building Conservation Officer at Pembrokeshire Coast National Park. Member of St David’s Diocesan Advisory Committee and the St David’s Cathedral Fabric Advisory Committee. Member of Institute of Historic Building Conservation. Author (joint) of Pevsner Buildings of Wales series (Pembrokeshire and Carmarthenshire/ Ceredigion), author of revised Powys volume, and local author. Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries. Treasurer of Burnett’s Hill C.M. Chapel, Martletwy and Deacon of Pisgah Baptist Chapel, Cresswell Quay. Appointed 2004.

Gerallt copyGerallt Nash

Graduate of the Welsh School of Architecture. Recently retired Senior Curator of Historic Buildings at the National History Museum, St Fagans. Founder member and first Secretary of CAPEL: The Chapels Heritage Society. Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries. Elder and member at Salem C. M. Chapel, Canton, Cardiff. Appointed 2012.

David Glennerster-Treasurer (Non-Trustee)

David is a retired Chartered Quantity Surveyor, formerly Managing Director of Wheeler Group Consultancy. He is a Member and past Chairman of the RICS West Wales and Treasurer of Pembrokeshire Country Markets.

David was a Trustee and the Trusts Treasurer for 15 years from its inception in 1998 until 2013  when he left to pursue his many endeavours across Pembrokeshire.